atlantica

The conquest of

the Atlantic Ocean

Because the oceans are contribute to the Atlantica project

the great crossing

Through her mission to become the first woman to cross the Atlantic from one continent to another, Heidi and her team are devoting this extreme swimming to one of the most current and imperative environmental concerns: water, oceans and their ecosystems.

1200
Kilometers
60
Swimming days
0
Hours
1
Millions / arm strokes
1
Arm stroke / minutes

ATLANTICA

The project

The mission

Project Atlantica’s mission is to propel the achievement of a world first in swimming: the Atlantic Crossing. Heidi Levasseur, a French Canadian, has the ambition to sign this feat and moreover, to dedicate this expedition to the protection of oceans at risk by plastic pollution.

A record

On each of the swimming days, the GPS coordinates will be recorded at the beginning and end of the session, to ensure that in the end, each km has been swum. Evidence of the feat will be forwarded to WOWSA for approval. It should be noted that no woman has achieved such a feat and that a man has made a crossing of the Atlantic, without otherwise providing evidence of the distance actually traveled to swim between two continents.

A superhuman challenge?

With more than 3000 km between the city of Dakar in Senegal and the city of Recife in Brazil, the athlete will have to push back his physical and psychological limits and believe in his abilities. Possessing a very rich open water swimming experience and surrounded by a competent team, the winning bet plays in his favor. Heidi will be surrounded by a safety boat (Catamaran 56 ‘) with a crew of seven. She will swim between 7 and 8 hours a day and will be assisted by a kayaker during her swimming sessions. Heidi and his team estimate between 4 and 6 months the duration of this epic expedition, in an environment where the weather and the vagaries of nature can be unpredictable.

An environmental echo

To raise awareness and promote the protection of oceans, the marine environment and renewable energies.

A humanitarian message to the peoples

This epic expedition rises above the sporting feat and joins many spheres of the human dimension, while recalling universal values of unity, peace and human rights freedoms. Taking the road between Africa and Brazil, which reminds us of the sad story of the slave trade, the young woman, originally from America, reaches out to all nations, to bring people together and to awaken the consciences to this approximation that offers us the sea.

The course

The crossing

The route

  • Departure: Dakar, Senegal (december 2019)
  • Arrival : Brasil (spring 2020)
  • Estimated time : 120 to 180 days
  • Stop : None
  • Refueling or partial relief of crew: two contacts planned
  • Total distance : ≈3000 kms

The vocation

Through her mission to become the first woman to cross the Atlantic from one continent to another, Heidi and her team are devoting this extreme swimming to one of the most current and imperative environmental concerns: water, oceans and their ecosystems. Indeed, water and marine ecosystems are issues that affect us at every level of our food chain.

Affected by the pollution of our industrial and economic activities, the situation becomes dramatic in many places in the world and very quickly, our survival will depend on it …

Security

An accompanying ship and a crew will follow the swimmer. This vessel will comply with international regulations (IMO), ensure the safety of the swimmer and provide adequate rest and recovery space for both her and the expedition crew.

Members of the expedition

  • Master of Shipping and Captain, Professional Sailor
  • Deputy Master of Shipping (Second), Professional Marine
  • Mechanic
  • Cook (optional) Professionnal marine
  • Sea Kayaker (Rescuer) Swimmer Safety
  • Cameraman, Documentary, videos, photos
  • Paramedical: massage and recovery, Daily Swim Care
  • Doctor, Health / Safety swimmer and crew

Swimming sessions

The swimmer will be at sea by day only and will do two sessions of four hours of swimming and this, 5 to 6 days per week, thus providing a distance of 20 to 25 km daily.

Supervision and safety of the athlete

The supervision of the swimmer will be provided by two crew members at all times:

  • the sea kayaker will supervise and guide the swimmer at a distance of a few meters during swimming sessions;
  • the captain will monitor the swimmer’s position using his control instruments and will be able to observe the imminent threats with sonar.

Ground crew

This team ensures and coordinates the work to be done in a terrestrial and virtual environment, so that the goals of the expedition are achieved. The news, the swimmer’s GPS position and the external communications will be managed by a team working on three continents.

GPS tracking

So that you can follow me daily in this odyssey, an Atlantic map will be visible at any time on my website, allowing you to regularly know my position in the Atlantic during each day.

Food

The planned diet plan consists of a balanced menu checked by a nutritionist.

Since we will be at sea for several months, the possibility of getting fresh food is very limited. That’s why most of our staple foods will be dry and need to be rehydrated so that they can be cooked.

Since we value and promote eco-responsible behavior, we have chosen to feed ourselves with vegetarian dishes.

Recovery

At the end of each swimming session, I will return aboard the catamaran, to give an account of my session, rest and receive therapeutic care.

Risks

The most favorable time of year, chosen according to the data recorded on the Pilots Charts, corresponding to the risks of tropical storms, is from November to April. The boat, dedicated to expedition, will be able to withstand the ocean conditions and will offer all the space required for the needs of the crew, as well as a certain comfort and stability.

Marine animals

Various safety mechanisms will be used to supervise the swimmer and offer maximum safety;

  • shark repellent liquid (Shark repellant) and shark ultrasonic (Shark shield)
  • sonar, multibeam echosounder that will be used to recognize the movements of marine animals;
  • striped jumpsuit creating confusion for some predators and a
    tactile protection against jellyfish stings;
  • time limit for swimming on sunny periods: entry to the water one hour after sunrise, exit one hour before bedtime;
  • drones-camera to identify some OFNI out of sight of the crew.

Injuries

A doctor will be on board. He must have experience at sea and be able to assist the athlete regularly, as well as any crew member requiring care.

There will also be at least one other crew member holding the STCW2010 Medical Professional Certificate.

Confinement at sea

A psychological resource that can be reached and reached ashore when needed.

Previous attempts

Here is a summary of the tests done in the past

1994

Guy Delage undertakes a swim from Cape Verde to Barbados (2,100 nautical miles) in 55 days, using an autonomous raft that sails adrift while he sleeps. According to the records, it will take 55 days to reach the Caribbean, however the distance traveled during the drift was not recorded and no witness authenticated the feat.

1998

Benoit Lecomte, swam from Hyannis, (USA) to Quiberon, (France) in 73 days (3,716 nautical miles). During this expedition, he swam 8 hours a day and two security ships assisted him. He made a 6-day stopover in the Azores. In addition, taking into account the duration and distance traveled, the speed of swimming recorded by a simple calculation, corresponds to a swimming speed of about 8 miles per hour. It would be impossible to achieve or maintain. Assuming that a portion of the trip was made by drifting his accompanying ship during his daily rest periods, it is not known exactly how many kilometers he swam.

2009

Jennifer Figge, swam from the Cape Verde Islands to Chacachacare Island, Trinidad. It swam only part of the distance out of a total of 2,160 nautical miles. She uses a shark cage during her swimming sessions (up to 8 hours a day) fighting against strong winds and waves up to 30 feet. Originally she had planned to swim in the Bahamas, but she had exceeded 1,000 miles (1,600 km).

2010

Jennifer Figge, swam from Cape Verde to Trinidad for a period of 31 days. Swimming six hours a day, 17 miles a day, she swam 139 hours and 25 minutes and totaled 300.86 miles on a course of 2.186 miles.

2013

Figge undertook another expedition. This time, she swam a total distance of 257.5 nautical miles (477 km) over a 32-day period. She left Cape Verde on April 8 and landed on the shores of Antigua in the Caribbean Sea on May 9, 2013.

2016

Ben Hooper, a British, started swimming from Dakar (Senegal) to Natal (Brazil). He wanted to become the first man to swim the full distance between two continents due to 8 hours of swimming a day, promising a return to his GPS position every morning. Mechanical breakdown and health problem (multiple jellyfish burns) forced him to give up after a little more than a month at sea and less than 200 kms of swimming.

SWIM TOWARD YOUR DREAMS

speaker

Dynamic and interactive conferences.

The objectives of the conferences are: motivation, surpassing oneself, the environment and the protection of water in particular.

Conferences adapted to primary or secondary schools, early childhood centers, companies, organizations, associations, special activities or training … Many concrete examples on different topics for the mobilization of all towards a better future.

YOU WOULD LIKE TO BOOK A CONFERENCE?

Close Menu
×

Cart

Cart

atlantica

la conquête de

l'océan atlantique

Parce que les océans sont contribuez au projet Atlantica

la grande traversée

À travers sa mission de devenir la première femme à traverser l’Atlantique à la nage d’un continent à l’autre, Heidi et son équipe dédient cette nage extrême à l’une des préoccupations environnementales les plus actuelles et impératives : la protection de l’eau, des océans et de leurs écosystèmes.

1200
Kilomètre
60
Jours de nage
0
Heures
1
Millions / coup de bras
1
Coup de bras / minutes

ATLANTICA

Présentation du projet

La mission

La mission du Projet Atlantica est de propulser la réalisation d’une première mondiale à la nage : la Traversée de l’Atlantique. Heidi Levasseur, une canadienne française, a l’ambition de signer cet exploit et qui plus est, de dédier cette expédition à la protection des océans en péril par la pollution plastique.

Un record

Lors de chacune des journées de nage, les coordonnées GPS seront enregistrées en début et en fin de séance, afin d’assurer qu’au final, chaque km aura été nagé. Les preuves de l’exploit seront transmises à la WOWSA, afin de procéder à l’homologation. Il est à noter qu’aucune femme n’a réussi un tel exploit et qu’un homme a réalisé une traversée de l’Atlantique, sans par ailleurs fournir les preuves attestant la distance effectivement parcourue à la nage entre deux continents.

Un défi surhumain?

Comptant plus de 3000 km entre la ville de Dakar au Sénégal et la ville de Recife au Brésil, l’athlète devra repousser ses limites physiques et psychologiques et croire en ses capacités. Possédant une expérience de nage en eau libre très riche et entourée d’une équipe compétente, le pari gagnant joue en sa faveur. Heidi sera encadrée par un bateau de sécurité (Catamaran 56’) comportant un équipage de sept personnes. Elle nagera entre 7 et 8 heures par jour et sera assistée par un kayakiste lors de ses séances de nage. Heidi et son équipe estime entre 4 et 6 mois la durée de cette expédition épique, dans un environnement où la météo et les aléas de la nature peuvent être imprévisibles.

Un écho environnemental

Conscientiser et promouvoir la protection des océans, de l’environnement marin et des énergies renouvelables.

Un message humanitaire aux peuples

Cette expédition épique s’élève au-dessus de l’exploit sportif et rejoint plusieurs sphères de la dimension humaine, tout en rappelant des valeurs universelles d’unité, de paix et de libertés des droits humains. Empruntant la route entre l’Afrique et le Brésil, qui nous rappelle la triste histoire de la traite des noires, la jeune femme, originaire de l’Amérique, tend la main à toutes les nations, afin de réunir les peuples et d’éveiller les consciences à ce rapprochement que nous offre la mer.

Le parcours

la traversée

L'itinéraire

  • Départ: Dakar, Sénégal (décembre 2020)
  • Arrivée : Brésil (printemps 2021)
  • Durée estimée : 120 à 180 jours
  • Escale : Aucune
  • Ravitaillement ou relève partielle d’équipage : deux contacts prévus
  • Distance totale : ≈3000 km

20

La vocation

À travers sa mission de devenir la première femme à traverser l’Atlantique à la nage d’un continent à l’autre, Heidi et son équipe dédient cette nage extrême à l’une des préoccupations environnementales les plus actuelles et impératives : la protection de l’eau, des océans et de leurs écosystèmes.

En effet, l’eau et les écosystèmes marins sont des enjeux qui nous touchent à tous les niveaux dans notre chaîne alimentaire. Affectée par la pollution de nos activités industrielles et économiques, la situation devient dramatique à plusieurs endroits dans le monde et très vite, notre survie en dépendra…

La sécurité

Un navire accompagnateur et un équipage suivra la nageuse. Ce navire sera conforme à la réglementation internationale (OMI), veillera à la sécurité de la nageuse et offrira un espace de repos et de récupération adéquat tout autant pour elle que pour l’équipage d’expédition.

Membres de l'expédition

  • Maître d’expédition et Capitaine, marin professionnel
  • Adjoint au maître d’expédition (second), marin professionnel
  • Mécanicien
  • Cuisinier (facultatif) Marin professionnel
  • Kayakiste de mer (secouriste) Sécurité nageuse
  • Caméraman, Documentaire, vidéos, photos
  • Paramédical : massage et récupération, Soins quotidiens nageuse
  • Médecin, Santé/Sécurité nageuse et équipage

Séances de nage

La nageuse sera en mer de jour uniquement et fera deux séances de quatre heures de nage et ce, 5 à 6 jours par semaine, prévoyant ainsi parcourir une distance de 20 à 25 km quotidiennement.

Supervision et sécurité de l’athlète

La supervision de la nageuse sera assurée par deux membres de l’équipage en tout temps :

  • le kayakiste de mer supervisera et guidera à une distance de quelques mètres la nageuse lors de ses sessions de nage ;
  • le capitaine, supervisera à l’aide de ses instruments de contrôle la position de la nageuse et pourra observer à l’aide d’un sonar les menaces imminentes.

Équipe terrestre

Cette équipe assure et coordonne le travail à faire en milieu terrestre et virtuel, afin que les buts de l’expédition soient atteints. Les actualités, la position GPS de la nageuse et les communications externes seront gérées par une équipe travaillant sur trois continents.

Traçage par GPS

Afin que vous puissiez me suivre quotidiennement dans cette odyssée, une carte de l’Atlantique sera visible en tout temps sur mon site Internet, vous permettant de connaitre régulièrement ma position dans l’Atlantique au cours de chaque journée.

Alimentation

Le plan alimentaire prévu se compose d’un menu équilibré vérifié par une nutritionniste.

Puisque nous allons être en mer pour plusieurs mois, la possibilité d’obtenir des aliments frais est très limitée. C’est pourquoi, la plupart de nos aliments de base seront sec et devront être réhydratés, afin de pouvoir les cuisiner.

Puisque nous valorisons et faisons la promotion de comportements éco-responsable, nous avons fait le choix de nous nourrir avec des mets végétariens.

Récupération

À la fin de chaque séance de nage, je retournerai à bord du catamaran, afin de donner un compte rendu de ma séance, me reposer et recevoir des soins thérapeutiques.

Risques

La période de l’année la plus propice, choisie en fonction des données répertoriées

sur les Pilots Charts, correspondant aux risques de tempêtes tropicales, est de novembre

à avril. L’embarcation, dédiée à l’expédition, sera capable de supporter les conditions

océaniques et permettra d’offrir tout l’espace requis pour les besoins de l’équipage, ainsi qu’un certain confort et une certaine stabilité.

Animaux marins

Divers mécanismes de sécurité seront utilisés, afin d’encadrer la nageuse et de lui offrir un maximum de sécurité ;

  • liquide répulsif à requins (Shark repellant) et ultrasons anti-requins (Shark shield)
  • sonar, sondeur multifaisceaux qui sera utilisé pour reconnaître les déplacements des animaux marins ;
  • combinaison rayée créant de la confusion pour certains prédateurs et une
  • protection tactile contre les piqûres de méduses ;
  • temps limite de la nage sur les périodes ensoleillées : entrée à l’eau une heure après le lever du soleil, sortie une heure avant le coucher de celui-ci ;
  • drones-caméra afin d’identifier certains OFNI hors de portée de vue de l’équipage.

Blessures

Un médecin sera présent à bord. Il devra posséder de l’expérience en mer et pourra assister l’athlète régulièrement, ainsi que tout membre d’équipage nécessitant des soins.

Il y aura également, au moins un autre membre d’équipage détenteur du Brevet professionnel Médical 3 STCW2010.

Confinement en mer

Une ressource psychologique joignable et accessible à terre en cas de besoin.

Tentatives antérieures

Voici un résumé des essais réalisés dans le passé

1994

Guy Delage entreprend une traversée à la nage entre Cap-Vert à la Barbade (2 100 milles marins) en 55 jours, en utilisant un radeau autonome qui navigue à la dérive lorsqu’il dort. Selon les archives, il prendra 55 jours à rejoindre les Caraïbes, cependant la distance parcourue lors de la dérive n’a pas été enregistrée et aucun témoin n’a authentifié l’exploit donc controversé, non-vérifiable.

1998

Benoit Lecomte, a nagé de Hyannis, (USA) à Quiberon, (France) en 73 jours (3 716 miles marins). Lors de cette expédition, il nageait 8 heures par jour et deux navires de sécurité l’assistaient. Il a fait une escale de 6 jours aux Açores. Par ailleurs, en tenant compte de la durée et de la distance parcourue, la vitesse de sa nage enregistrée selon un calcul simple, correspond à une vitesse de nage d’environ 8 milles par heure. Ce serait impossible à atteindre ou à maintenir. En supposant donc qu’une portion du trajet fut effectuée par la dérive de son navire accompagnateur lors de ses périodes quotidienne de repos, on ne peut connaitre exactement combien de kilomètres il a nagé.

2009

Jennifer Figge, a nagé depuis les îles du Cap-Vert jusqu’à l’île de Chacachacare, à Trinidad. Elle n’a nagé qu’une partie de la distance sur un total de 2 160 milles nautiques. Elle utilise une cage de requin pendant ses sessions de nage (jusqu’à 8 heures par jour) luttant contre de forts vents et des vagues jusqu’à 30 pieds. À l’origine, elle avait prévu de nager aux Bahamas, mais elle avait dépassé 1 000 miles (1,600 km).

2010

Jennifer Figge, a nagé de Cap-Vert à Trinidad sur une période de 31 jours. Nageant six heures par jour, 17 miles par jour, elle a nagé 139 heures et 25 minutes et a totalisé 300,86 miles sur un parcours de 2,186 miles.

2013

Figge a entrepris une autre expédition. Cette fois, elle a nagé une distance totale de 257,5 miles nautiques (477 km) au cours d’une période de 32 jours. Elle a quitté le Cap-Vert le 8 avril et a atterri sur les rives d’Antigua, dans la mer des Caraïbes, le 9 mai 2013.

2016

Ben Hooper, un britannique, a entrepris de nager de Dakar (Sénégal) vers Natal (Brésil). Il voulait devenir le premier homme à effectuer la distance complète à la nage entre deux continents en raison de 8 heures de nage par jour, promettant le retour à sa position GPS à chaque matin. Bris mécanique et problème de santé (multiples brûlures de méduses) l’obligèrent à abandonner après un peu plus d’un mois en mer et moins de 200 kms de nage.

NAGE VERS TES RÊVES

CONFÉRENCIÈRE

Des conférences dynamiques et interactives.

L’objectif des conférences sont: motivation, dépassement de soi, l’environnement et la protection de l’eau en particulier.

Les conférences adaptées aux écoles primaires ou secondaires, centres de la petite enfance, entreprises, organismes, associations, lors d’activités spéciales ou de formations… De nombreux exemples concrets sur différents sujets pour la mobilisation de tous vers un avenir meilleur.

VOUS AIMERIEZ RÉSERVER UNE CONFÉRENCE?

×

Panier